top of page

August 2022

Elkhart Public Library
Board of Trustees Meeting
Wednesday, August 24th, 2022
6:30 pm Elkhart Public Library


I.    Call to Order

II.    Roll Call

III.    Public Comment

IV.    Minutes Review (action)                                       

V.    Treasurer’s Report (discussion/action)                
A.    Overview of Income and Expenses                
B.    Presentation of Bills                        
C.    Approval of Bills (action)                

VI.    Librarian’s Report (discussion/action)

VII.    Old/Unfinished Business (discussion/action)        
A.    Holidays closed: none  (discussion/action)
B.    Library’s 130th Birthday (3-5-23) (discussion/action)
C.    Policy Review/Manual Update – tabled until next month (discussion/action)
D.    Future Building Updates (discussion/action)
E.    Library Credit Card – delayed until Aug/Sept meeting (discussion/action)

VIII.    New Business (discussion/action)
A.    Tentative Budget (discussion/action)
B.    TIF Extension Proposal (discussion/action)
C.    Director Hours/Payroll (discussion/action)
D.    Upcoming Library Dates/Deadlines: September, 2022 (discussion/action)
o    Secretary’s Annual Report  – 8/24/22 (for IPLAR)
o    IPLAR (annual State report) – 9/1/22
o    Budget review for FY23
o    Per Capita grant requirement fulfillment begins

IX.    Executive Session

X.    Adjournment


Next meeting: September 28th, 2022
Elkhart Public Library, 6:30 pm


Minimum Wage Annual Increase                Board Memebers’ Term Expirations
Jan. 1, 2022 – $12                        Dana Hudson – ’23 (’27)
Jan. 1, 2023 – $13                        Ann Olson – ’23 (’25)
Jan. 1, 2024 – $14                        Phil Shelton – ’23 (’27)
Jan. 1, 2025 – $15                        Sarah McCutcheon – ’23 (’27)
                               Sue Roush – ’23 (’27)
                         Jeanine Kolb – ’23 (’25)
                               Mark Mohan – ’23 (’25)

Board members with a ’25 will run in ’23 for a 2-year term.  Members with a ’27 will also run in ’23, but for a four-year term.  Following the ’23 election, everyone will be on their proper rotations.  

Each standard term is four years.  The board must have seven members, and there must be three running for a new term at a different time from the other four.

bottom of page